Brought to you by Lawrence Photo Store

KU's Jenny Mosser named Big 12 volleyball Scholar Athlete of the Year

Kansas senior Jenny Mosser serves the ball during the Jayhawks' five-set loss to No. 1 Texas on Saturday, Oct. 9, 2021 at Horejsi Family Volleyball Arena.

Kansas volleyball senior Jenny Mosser was named the Big 12 volleyball scholar-athlete of the year for 2021 earlier this week.

The super-senior from Lakeville, Minnesota, who came to KU before the 2021 season as a graduate transfer after a strong career at UCLA was one of the most important and reliable players on the Kansas roster during the past two seasons.

Her ability as a relentless attacker from the outside hitter position at the net put her among the team’s offensive leaders. In 2021, Mosser led the Jayhawks with 388 points while playing in all 30 matches for the Sweet 16-bound Jayhawks.

As a six-rotation player, who served and played defense at an elite level, Mosser also was one of the Jayhawks’ most consistent players in the back row this season.

She is currently pursuing a master’s degree in social work and has maintained a 4.0 grade-point average throughout her time at KU.

During her time at Kansas, she received second-team all-Big 12 honors and also was named to the 2021 Academic all-Big 12 first team. The KU veteran also earned all-region recognition from the American Volleyball Coaches Association this season.

Mosser becomes the third Jayhawk to receive the Big 12 Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award since it was established in 2012-13. The previous winners were former Cassie Wait in 2016 and Tayler Tolefree in 2012.

According to the Big 12, a recipient for Big 12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in every conference-sponsored sport each year.

Every Big 12 institution nominates one individual per sport and the winners are selected by a vote of the conference head coaches for that sport. The coaches are not allowed to vote for their own athletes.

In order to be nominated, the student-athlete must be a junior or senior (athletic and academic standing), have a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher, participate in at least 20% of the team’s scheduled contests and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

Joining Mosser as Big 12 Scholar Athlete of the Year recipients for the fall sports in 2021 were: Iowa State cross country runners Thomas Pollard and Cailie Logue; Iowa State football player Charlie Kolar and Texas Tech soccer player Kirsten Davis.


Dirk Medema

Congratulations Jenny.
You’ve been a great part of the program.

11 months, 1 week ago


Commenting has been disabled for this item.