Brought to you by Lawrence Photo Store

KU rowing sets program record with 11 National Scholar Athlete honorees

A program record 11 rowers from the University of Kansas recently earned National Scholar Athlete recognition from the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association.

This marks the third year in a row that the KU rowing program set a new record for NSA honors, topping the 2019 total of 10, which also topped the previous record of nine in 2018. KU rowing also had nine NSA honorees in 2008.

Reese Arnold, Abigail Benedict, Shannon Cody, Katie Donnellan, Isabelle Finzen, Jaryn Folk, Julia Isbell, Jadyn Jay, Jenna Lenherr, Danica Pecana and Riley Varuska were KU’s 2020 honorees.

“These Kansas athletes have achieved high-level success in both the classroom and on the water,” KU coach Carrie Cook-Callen said in a news release.

This season’s CRCA Scholar-Athlete Award requirements were adjusted because of the pandemic.

In order to qualify for NSA recognition, student-athletes had to be in at least their second year of eligibility, maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.50 and be ranked in the top half of their team in terms of performance.


Mo Meza

Great! We are proud of you all. RCJ.

2 years, 4 months ago


Commenting has been disabled for this item.